Support Products Home

Chakra (cakra in Sanskrit) means “wheel” and refers to energy points in your body. They are thought to be spinning disks of energy that should stay “open” and aligned, as they correspond to bundles of nerves, major organs, and areas of our energetic body that affect our emotional and physical well-being.

Some say there are 114 different chakras, but there are seven main chakras that run along your spine. These are the chakras that most of us are referring to when we talk about them.Each of these seven main chakras has a corresponding number, name, color, specific area of the spine from the sacrum to the crown of the head, and health focus.

There are 109 chakras in our body, out of which 108 are in the physical body and one is in the astral body (what we commonly refer to as aura).

7 CHAKRAS Details

Muladhara / Root Chakra

The Muladhara, or root chakra, represents our foundation. On the human body, it sits at the base of the spine and gives us the feeling of being grounded. When the root chakra is open, we feel confident in our ability to withstand challenges and stand on our own two feet. When it's blocked, we feel threatened, as if we're standing on unstable ground.
* Location: Base of spine, in tailbone area
* What it controls: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food
* Mantra: LAM
* Color: Red
* Element: Earth
* Stone: Hematite
* Yoga pose: Warrior I
* When it develops: 1-7 years old

Svadhisthana / Sacral Chakra

The Swadhisthana, or sacral chakra, helps inform how we relate to our emotions and the emotions of others. It also governs creativity and sexual energy. Those with a blocked sacral chakra could feel a lack of control in their lives.
* Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel
* What it controls: Your sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, and sexuality
* Mantra: VAM
* Color: Orange
* Element: Water
* Stone: Tiger's Eye
* Yoga pose: Bound Angle Pose
* When it develops: 8-14 years old

Manipura / Solar Plexus Chakra

TThe third chakra, the solar plexus chakra, speaks to your ability to be confident and in control of your life. Think back to the last time you had butterflies or felt a pit in the stomach: That's the Manipura chakra at work. If your solar plexus chakra is blocked, you might feel overwhelming amounts of shame and self-doubt. Those with open sacral chakras are free to express their true selves.
* Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area
* What it controls: Self-worth, self-confidence, and self-esteem
* Mantra: RAM
* Color: Yellow
* Element: Fire
* Stone: Amber
* Yoga pose: Boat Pose
* When it develops: 15-21 years old

Anahata / Heart Chakra

The Anahata, or heart chakra, is the bridge between the lower chakras (associated with materiality) and the upper chakras (associated with spirituality). As the name suggests, this chakra can influence our ability to give and receive love—from others and ourselves. Someone with a blocked heart chakra will have difficulty fully opening up to the people in their life. If someone's heart is open, they can experience deep compassion and empathy.
* Location: Center of chest, just above the heart
* What it controls: Love, joy, and inner peace
* Mantra: YAM
* Color: Green
* Element: Air
* Stone: Rose Quartz
* Yoga pose: Camel Pose
* When it develops: 21-28 years old

Vishuddha / Throat Chakra

The Vishuddha, or throat chakra, gives voice to the heart chakra and controls our ability to communicate our personal power. When it's functioning at full capacity, it allows us to express ourselves truly and clearly. Someone with a blocked throat chakra will feel like they have trouble finding the words to say how they truly feel.
* Location: Throat
* What it controls: Communication, self-expression, and truth
* Mantra: HAM
* Color: Light Blue/Turquoise
* Element: Sound/Music
* Stone: Aquamarine
* Yoga pose: Fish Pose
* When it develops: 29-35 years old

Ajna / Third-Eye Chakra

As we move up the body, we're getting closer to communion with the divine. The Anja, or third-eye chakra, controls our ability to see the big picture and connect to intuition. Think of it as the eye of the soul: It registers information beyond the surface level. Visions and intuitive hits are not uncommon for someone with an open third-eye chakra.
* Location: Forehead between the eyes
* What it controls: Intuition, imagination, and wisdom
* Mantra: OM
* Color: Dark Blue/Purple
* Element: Light
* Stone: Amethyst
* Yoga pose: Child's Pose
* When it develops: 36-42 years old

Sahasrara / Crown Chakra

The Sahasrara, or crown chakra, the highest chakra, sits at the crown of the head and represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. When you fully open your crown chakra—something very few people ever do!—you're able to access a higher consciousness.
* Location: The very top of the head
* What it controls: Inner and outer beauty, spiritual connection
* Mantra: OM
* Color: Violet/White
* Element: Divine Consciousness
* Stone: Clear quartz
* Yoga pose: Headstand
* When it develops: 43-49 years old


1) What is the purpose of 7 chakras ?
Ans) Chakras play a role in the flow of energy in your body. Running from the base of your spine to the top of your head, the seven main chakras each correspond to specific nerve bundles and organs in your body.

2) Why is it important for chakras to be healthy ?
Ans) Balancing your chakras sets the stage for improved overall health and an ability to heal from any illness or injury much faster. You'll not only feel physically healed, but you'll find your emotions feel healthier, and it's easier to thrive spiritually.

3) Is it safe to open one's chakras ?
Ans) One's chakras can be closed and yet one can be healthy, emotionally balanced, mentally creative, and successful in many areas of life. The purpose of opening the chakras is not to improve one's capacity in the ordinary domains of human life but to go beyond our mortal and transient seeking to the immortal essence.